Exercise 10, part I

April 4, 2016 Comments Off on Exercise 10, part I

Look up. Describe the first thing you notice, and report your impressions in detail.

the first thing I saw was the painting I made at a painting &vino class at Cardiff by the Sea. it’s called Cherry Tree.  A blossoming cherry tree by a river.  Some of the pedals of the flowers are falling into the river, floating down the stream.  The sky is unusually blue: blue blue.  The particular thing I noticed about the painting was the dark tumor on the top of the trunk, at the bending of the branches.  This color of the tumor is near black and I remembered I added it after I finished everything.  The action has mystified me since the moment I added it to the painting.   I believe everything happens for a reason.  Why did I do that?

My daughter was with me at the class.  She asked me, why do you do that? I said, I don’t know.  Maybe I wanted to show that this tree is not a young tree, and it has a history of experience.  Experience makes life richer and interesting and deeper.  Or because imperfection makes it perfect.

Every time when I looked at the painting, my attention goes to that tumor I added.  My very personal touch.  I tried to interpret my intention for the action.  This action makes me feel my tainted view of life and the depth I have been looking for.  Have I reached the depth of life experience that I am able to write better?

NOTE: This is one of the exercises in Laura Day’s book: Practical Intuition: how to harness the power of your instinct and make it work for you.  To develop my intuition, I made a decision to do every exercise in this book, and to document them in this blog.
Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Exercise 10, part I at Standing Ajar ....

meta

