Exercise 15

April 24, 2016 Comments Off on Exercise 15

Allowing Impressions to Create a Story

Instruction:

Take a long deep breath and allow myself to get a visual image. Now allow myself to make up a story about itself.

When I’m done, ask myself the following questions about my story:

  • What did the original image remind me of?
  • How did the final image or story compare with the initial one?
  • Was there a lot of “movement” or change between the initial image and the final one?
  • What qualities describe that movement?

My Answer:

Seeing sunset from a beach house.  I’m sitting on a lounging chair by the pool and watching the sunset in the horizon in the ocean.  The clouds are burning red and orange, as if the sky is bursting into flames.  So brilliant! The air is still and chilly.  I picked up a thick towel and wrapped myself in it.  It was a perfect Saturday!  The waves were perfect and the temperature was high enough to be comfortable in my wetsuit.  Had a big lunch with Josh and took a two hour nap afterwards.  This is heaven on earth. My daughter is sitting by the fire-pit reading and I realized it’s getting dark and the sun has fallen below the horizon.  I want some hot soup for dinner.

  • the original image reminded me a perfect ending
  • the final image is the inner peace after a perfect event
  • not a lot of movement.
  • it was a smooth and peaceful transition

This exercise answers my question 3.

NOTE: This is one of the exercises in Laura Day’s book: Practical Intuition: how to harness the power of your instinct and make it work for you.  To develop my intuition, I made a decision to do every exercise in this book, and to document them in this blog.
Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Exercise 15 at Standing Ajar ....

meta

